AutoDesSys

Thinking of switching to Unreal from Lumion

Greetings all,

Could someone here let me know their experience with the datasmith plugin? I have been using lumion, via formZ to Sketchup and was thinking at first to upgrade to Lumion 2023. Then, looked at the datasmith plugin and wondered how it compared. 

I'd appreciate your insight and recommendations.

I have limited experience Allan but I can say it's been very good. For larger projects I export to Twinmotion by layers which come in very well, then I have control if there are any changes to the design by just bringing in the layers which are altered. The rest stay in the TM model as before such as entourage.

Materials are exported from Fz into TM very well including bump maps etc.

TM 2023 is awesome, the interface is much improved.

hello alan
We have quite a strong experience here
In addition we actively participate in the Beta community of Twinmotion

Currently we use FZ 9 exclusively for the Datasmith export function
We work with FZ 6.7.3
We export in groups and the file structure is perfectly converted

Material conversion is really basic
The texture mapping is transferred with the color map
For the rest you have to forget
Materials need to be rebuilt in TM
We have developed a user library in which we find most of our usual materials
For the others it is necessary to work them in TM

We asked the question but a better conversion of materials depends on the plugin which is developed by ADS
The Epic game team told us that they wanted to get in touch with ADS without any feedback from them...
(It's true that it should be more of a priority to develop 2d software on mac.. in short, I don't want to argue...)

That said, and therefore apart from this problem of converting materials, the plugin does its job perfectly to convert geometry.

We can dream of a plugin that will integrate a direct link but it is probably not planned before 2050