AutoDesSys

Rendering Time

flakie

I have a Imac pro with 8 cores and it has been very capable at outputting renderings. The longest has been about 30 mins at 2500x1200 with glass, chrome, frosted glass and grass finishes. I just had a project where the file took over 3 hours to render and suggestions on why that file took so long to render.

Hi there flakie,

We need more information about your scene to understand what's really going on here.  For example, Low light (night time and interior) renderings can be particularly slow if you are using a low powered rendering workstation.  8 CPU cores is really not much in 2019 when it comes to rendering power, and since it's an iMac, it's using a lowered powered version so it doesn't overheat it's silly thin design.  Apple continually prioritizes form over function.  Even as an Industrial Designer myself,  I find this puzzling when it comes to their supposed 'Pro' grade machines, which need function over form all day long.

VRay comes with 2 different rendering engines.  CPU, and GPU.  You will get much faster rendering times using the GPU rendering engine with VRay and GTX/RTX GPUs from Nvidia.  Unfortunately, Apple has refused to support the 3D creative professional with it's poor choice of hardware in the entire Mac line by not including new Nvidia GPUs.  That's why you can't easily use this much faster GPU rendering option on a Mac without a lot of 3rd party workarounds.  Apple has also stopped allowing the new Nvidia Drivers on it's newest Mac OS.  All signs point to, they don't care about the 3D creative professional and the industry standard of CUDA powered GPU rendering.

In short, if you need faster rendering speeds, you'll need to switch to a Windows PC with Nvidia GPUs, or use a rendering farm for your larger rendering projects.

Justin,