AutoDesSys

Using derive to create a 2nd object

Sammi

Guys, I wonder .....

I created this elipse and a matching table but now the client wants to change the angle so I have created the new elipse - I am playing as I have lots of time to do the job and wondered what was the quickest way to create the new table

- would you all create the table using derive etc from the elipse?

Sammi   :)

post-954-0-92709100-1422520875_thumb.jpg

Hi Sammi, yes you could derive new geometry from that one. However, you would have a lot more control of the objects if it were smooth geometry (looks facetted in your pic), such as edge rounding etc.

Des

Hi Des,

I am self taught on fmz and still learning everyday but my previous work collegue gave me an hour quick run through on v3 6 years ago and told me to always create facetted objects not smooth! - but should I create objects in smooth then or does it depend on what is being created?

Also, I tried to use the derive tools along with slice?!? - did this not work because it isn't a smooth object?

Sammi

Hi,  Facetted geometry used to be favored for keeping file sizes smaller, in a one or two object project. Also, favored, possibly, to ease computation burdens on older, weaker computers.  Fast forward, today, recent , (even small) computers overcome those earlier issues.... Smooth objects offer more options of editing, control, measurability and in my opinion, wash out the facetted sub-structures,  which do not relate to real world construction concerns. So that preliminary mock-ups need not add confusion to products presented. Smooth object iso-lines, (sub structure), can be displayed or hidden, (toggled), easily.  Nevertheless, facetted geometry has other important uses nonetheless.