AutoDesSys

Why form•z is not popular any more:

UVWXYZ

This is a short story:

As an architect, I have tried to use every modeling software there is, from really old stuff like Moray (1991), 3D Studio, Ray Dream designer onwards, via 3ds max, cinema, blender, rhino, sketchup,  etc., also all kinds of caad software. I even keep a sheep shaver emulation with Mac OS 8 and once in a while I go back this timemachine. It starts form•z 2.5 for example.

I tried to be friends with form•z since university, from 2000 on. It always seemed capable and even promising back then, but ended up being frustrating and tiresome.

Now I tested form•z again, this time in version 9 (in the free version) 

I know, it is a small company, but some aspects have not been addressed for ages:

My main concern lies in the dated and non consistent interface design

- bad menu typograpy (touches edges, not aligned, not consistent) (see blender or archicad)

- bad icon design (unlike c4d for example)

- bad translations (unlike c4d)

- bad quality check of functions and tools (unlike rhino)

- non consistent tool options (unlike c4d)

- interface not customizable enough, even in the pro version (unlike c4d, even rhino!)

- very slow development (unlike blender)

- slow response to whishes from users (like many other companies, but most of them have a solid plug in/addon source)

- Some modern aspects of designing 3d like parametric, history- or node-based design (and a proper integrated renderer), which other software solutions have long used, are not covered here anyway!

- It is also not enough to offer state of the art technology (like sub-D), the tools have to evolve!

to sum up: form•z  is now a non appalling software in 2021 and this results in a small community and low interest from outside.

I am serious: I could spend a day at AutoDeSys and bring that software into the 20th century. At least and at last.