AutoDesSys

FormZ Free and QuickStart Tutorial 2…

bmeissner

Hi all,

I wanted to get my daughter started with FormZ and suggested she'd try the tutorials first. This is how I learned FormZ decades ago. Well, for total beginners there are those self guided tutorials in the "About" screen, consisting of 3 parts (QuickStart, Sculpting, Materials). Part 1 was easy, but now we get stuck on part 2, scene 9, which instructs to select the "Ellipse 1 drawing tool". Well… there is no Ellipse drawing tool. Or do I overlook something?

722146636_Bildschirmfoto2020-12-09um23_23_25.png.5c42b3c643e7db554c120bf5f6dba41a.png

Bernd

9 hours ago, Andrew West said:

I have never used the free version but in my full version there are several tools you are missing.  As for the ellipse tool she can always draw a circle and then scale it in one direction to fake it.  

Hi Andrew,

yes, independent scale works for making an ellipse out of a circle. However, the snapping instructions as per the tutorial don't work this way, and the independent scale tool hasn't been explained in the (absolute beginner) tutorial yet. Anyway… so that's a "find out how to fake inexistent tools" tutorial… 😉

Bernd,

Update 4: There really isn't a bug.  My snap tolerance was set too small.  Too, my project numerical accuracy was set to a crude value relative to the size of the object I was working with.

¢£

Regard the below notes as null and void.

There appears to be a bug with the interval snap.  When selecting to define the center of the scale is a part of the object to be scaled and selecting the starting point is also on the object.   (snap options interval should be set to 4)