AutoDesSys

How do I create a face?

chrisjk

I am sure this is a dumb question but as a noob, I hope you will forgive me.

I want to know how to create a face in an object where I want one but doesn't have one at present. As a super simple example, if I create a cube or a cylinder say,  then delete one face, how do I recreate that face (with a tool, not by simply undoing the delete action)?

It really depends on the type of object which has a missing face/s and whether the opening is planer or not.

If object doctor is unable to fix the missing face then you'll have to replace it yourself and stitch it to the rest of the object. The first thing I would try is to use "select sequence" in tool options, move the cursor over the edge of the missing face and if it selects the correct edges around the hole, copy and paste. If the edge you copied pastes in with a surface, then the surface is planer and can be stitched to the rest there and then. If the edge pastes in without a surface, then it's non-planer in which case use the triangulate tool on it and then stitch.

If you are unable to use the select sequence (the sequence goes beyond the opening for example) just trace the opening in a 3d view with the vector line (as a 2d surface) snapping to the points. If the closed vector line has no surface then do as above and triangulate it and stitch.

You can draw in triangles as well with the vector tool and stitch them together.

If you post a snapshot of the object with it's missing face, it'd be easier to choose the right method...

Des

Many thanks for these replies.

Joe, I confess I don't understand how offset segment might work to replace a face, as it will not traverse an open space. I must be missing something there I guess.