AutoDesSys

3d Warehouse alternative?

Studio-Swaim

Does anyone have any leads on a more reliable model "warehouse" site other than 3d ware house? The sketchup model geometry is so unreliable it's almost becoming a waste of time to visit the site in hopes of finding what you need. Seems like I have to down load 3 models before I can find one that works. I think the object doctor tool in FZ is supposed to fix these, but it never does. Even sites like form fonts has this problem. Is there such a library out there with well constructed models? Maybe FZ needs to add the project to their new years resolutions. FZ model library.

Note: I'm not a programmer and don't know the ins and outs of the differences in FZ and Sketchup other than knowing Skp files are very iffy in FZ a lot of the time.

post-9626-0-07962800-1452783023_thumb.png

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are many problems with using sketch up files in formZ (and other 3d software)

- The type of modelling is very different (not solid) and as the name says it was originally designed as a sketch visualising tool - not an accurate finished 3d modeller

- The widespread use of Sketchup means that a wide spectrum of people build and upload models - some of them may not have that much experience in 3d. 

- To produce models of more complicated shape there are a lot of workarounds and 3rd party plugins which again can compromise the integrity of the finished model.

There are other websites - some commercial some free

Some manufacturers also provide free cad files for their furniture etc.

But it would be good to have a central site/place with a list of these and also a central site where people can upload/download their own models.

I have had different levels of success with warehouse models - and object doctor has helped. The model doesn't have to be perfect to render, and you can usually get away with quite a lot.