AutoDesSys

New to FormZ Hello and help please...

dgood133

Hi, I hope this is the right place to put this, I am totally new to Form Z and finally attempting to learn the software I bought almost 2 years ago.

I ran into very strange behavior just now while attempting to teach myself basic modeling... I was loosely following the 30 min house video on Youtube. 

Everything went fine until I got to the part where you apply a material to the model. 

So you understand I am writing this because this is now the 2nd time this same behavior has occurred in as many days...

Once I apply the material to the glass in this example my model goes nuts. The work plane disappears, I lose the visible lines for edges, including when using a tool which needs those edges like the offset segment or reshape tool... nothing I do will effect this other then turning off FormZ and restarting. 

Interesting note I made a copy of the file this time before attempting the material thing and it not only effected the file I was working on but the copy as well...

I get crazy ghost lines going everywhere, the model itself is ghosted and in multiple places at once. 

It reminds me a bit of a bug splat that used to get in Sketchup a few years back, I have been using that for set design for years now

I have attached screen grabs here please take a look and if you know whats causing this please let me know. I am not on a job right now so I am hoping to use this time to learn but...

after restarting file it seems to be fine I haven't tried using another material yet...

Appreciate any help or advice 

Thanks

Dpost-12294-0-63043400-1442702727_thumb.jpgpost-12294-0-72268100-1442702736_thumb.jpgpost-12294-0-45953100-1442702745_thumb.jpg

AS an update I had attempted to continue working through without using any materials just to learn the tools