AutoDesSys

COMPONENTS = DISASTER = AVOID

Simu

A bit of advice, DO NOT USE COMPONENTS. I am not being a drama queen here, just giving some valuable advice.

Having spent dozens of hours happily modelling away, tolerating crash after crash when trying to use the quirky implementation of components in FormZ I was rewarded this morning with the complete loss of my work.

Admittedly this is a summer project, of no commercial value, but that is not the point.

For the first time in over 20 years using software I have encountered an unrecoverable loss of data due to the program failing to save properly. Even the "backup" .fzb file is broken.

Preview from saved file:

post-10423-0-60791700-1431023642_thumb.png

This is what opens up after saving and resuming work later that morning:

post-10423-0-16880600-1431023681_thumb.png

ALL COMPONENT INSTANCES HAVE BEEN DELETED BY FORMZ. No warning, no reason, just gone.

I have been practicing Architecture for over 20 years, and have used many programs, good and bad, in all that time I have never succumbed to TOTAL data loss as a result of the program. You would at the very least expect the backup file to work. I always rely on my file numbering system: "000, Filename, 000" Where the first digit is the major revision, the second number is the minor revision. I had only done 20+ hours work, so was happy with the file name staying at "000 Greenhouse 000.fmz". At this version level I would not expect to loose both main and backup file due to an issue with the program itself. This is unforgivable in a professional environment.

Murphy's law: After this wake up call I set up TimeMachine, despite being nagged over the past weeks by OS X. Also, Murphy's Law: Unusually for me these files are not saved onto one of my DropBox accounts, like 99% of my work is. I could cry. Maybe I'm not meant to build this green house, maybe keeping chickens is a bad idea, I don't know.