AutoDesSys

Form Z not responding

Alan Cooper

FormZ 8.01 hangs far too regularly upon exit of edit group. I'm only in shaded work display. I could perhaps understand if the work was intensive, but usually all very simple straight rectangular 3d work with no booleans [unless push-pull reshaping and extending is considered to be boolean] and certainly not graphic intensive. I am no expert but it feels to me like a small amount of computer RAM is dedicated to a group and despite plenty of RAM being available, it is not accessible while working inside the group....could this be correct, and more importantly, rectified please? The same thing used to happen with groups in another CAD program I used to use, but did not happen with blocks. Coincidence or related? Windows 7 64bit.

Hi Alan,

We edit groups all the time without issues.  Perhaps there is something specific to your files?  If you repeat your actions on groups in your file, are you able to reproduce the problem?  If so, can you let us know which groups you are editing, and how -- and either way send a file in which you are having trouble so we can investigate this?

Thanks Tech, it seems that my system has issues. You have kindly looked at my files in the past and I don't want to waste your time as I can't think of anything special about the file that could cause a problem. I'll send it anyway though, together with recent dump file and crash details. I am taking measures to clear my system as much as possible, simplifying security devices and putting my working file onto the SSD which the Windows 7 operating system is on, instead of second hard disk, hoping it will perform better afterwards.

Hi Alan,