Jump to content


Photo

Vray License Server Error


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Shibui Design

Shibui Design

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 08 January 2018 - 02:26 PM

Hello,

 

Just installed the latest 8.6WIP and updated the Vray plug in. Now having a license server error that I can't seem to work around. How can I correct this?

 

Thanks for the help!

Attached Files



#2 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 364 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 09 January 2018 - 05:49 AM

i cannot install on my mac with latest installer, always getting this error:

 

"ERROR: Unable to obtain temporary file for uninstall log of V-Ray Online License Server"

Attached Files


3dworks visual computing + photography


#3 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 06:25 AM

I have the same problem here with MacOs High Sierra 10.13.2

and Form-Z build 9999 and latest Vray


Edited by AHDD Designer, 09 January 2018 - 06:26 AM.


#4 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 11:42 AM

Working with MacOs High Sierra 10.13.3

Latest FormZ 8.6 WIP Build 9999 and latest Vray
 
I am not able to connect to the Vray License Server anymore.
I have downloaded the latest app vrlservice_osx_4.5.1
It shows that the installation process has finished successfully.
 
I am not able to connect to the server http://localhost:30304 to check the I am connected.
There is the message, that the Webrowser is not able to open the page, because it is not able to establish a connections.
 


#5 Justin Montoya

Justin Montoya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 12:36 PM

I had a problem with the new license server in a previous build.  If you can uninstall the new 4.5.1 license server and reinstall the earlier version 4.4.1, it should work.  I'm avoiding updating the license server until I hear its working correctly from AutoDesSys.



#6 spaceagency

spaceagency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 January 2018 - 08:14 PM

I'm having the same problem with the license server application. Have tried uninstalling/reinstalling, have tried the 4.5.1 and the 4.4.1 versions and nothing works. It does not connect to the license server.  I'm on Mac OS X Sierra (10.12.6) and it also appears that the vrol.bin process is calling out constantly to connect with no result and each time it does it throws up a dialog box to allow/disallow via the firewall every 10 seconds or so. Highly irritating. I uninstalled the Vray license server entirely. Not sure what is up with this build, but everything was fine up until now. Was loving Vray up until now. Any help/suggestions would be appreciated. 



#7 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,163 posts

Posted 11 January 2018 - 12:44 PM

There was an issue with an earlier version of the beta installer that could leave some permissions set wrong on OS X. There is a folder in your home directory called /.ChaosGroup. Its a hidden folder (hence the dot at the beginning). This folder may now have the wrong permissions assigned to it.

 

Here is how to fix this:

 

First you  need to be able to see hidden files in the finder. This is off by default on OS X just to keep things simple to the OS X user.
• Open Terminal found in Finder > Applications > Utilities.
• In Terminal, paste the following: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles YES
• Press return.
• Hold the 'Option/alt' key, then right click on the Finder icon in the dock and select Relaunch.

 

To fix the permissions:

 

- In the Finder, navigate to your home folder and you will see the .ChaosGroup folder.
- Select this folder.
- Select get Get Info from the File menu (or right click and select Get Info).
- In the info window, click the lock icon in the lower right to unlock the interface and type your password.
- Make sure that the Ownership of the folder which is the top line of permissions has your user name (indicated with “Me”) and the permissions  are set to Read and Write.
- Click on the gear at he bottom of the window and select "Apply To enclosed items” and select OK.
- You can now try the license serve again, but you may need to re-instal it (its located in /Applications/formz 8/plugins/V-Ray for formZ/vrlservice_osx_4.4.1.bin).

 

If you no longer wish to see hidden files.  You can repeat the process above, just change the defaults line:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles NO

 

 

 

Attached Files



#8 ASONE

ASONE

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • LocationBoulder, Colorado, USA

Posted 11 January 2018 - 01:31 PM

did not work...

Attached Files


FormZ PRO v8.5.  2017 iMac 4.0 GHz quad core i7 24MB RAM and a 2015 Macbook Pro quad core i7 16MB RAM, Modern Architecture in Boulder and Denver Colorado www.ASONEarchitecture.com 


#9 spaceagency

spaceagency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 January 2018 - 04:51 PM

UPDATE on license server issue.
 
Did FormZ permissions issue suggestion, still no joy . The install that comes with the latest download is still problematic (see ASONE post above).
 
Tried borrowing the offline license. Mistake as I thought that might work, but you still need to get to the V-Ray localhost to do implement.
 
Searched through ChaosGroup forum. Found a potential correction and did the following:
 
deleted files in: /Users/"username"/.ChaosGroup
reinstalled the V-Ray OLS version 4.4.1.ADV via ChaosGroup website. And re-activated the license. This appeared to work to connect to the V-Ray OLS, but now there are two "workstations" listed in my.chaosgroup.com license portal: the old activation with the the borrowed license, and a workstation that is the newly activated license. (I think this is actually the same license) But since the old workstation (which I can no longer access via the OLS since it's been reinstalled on the same computer) has an offline borrowed license, it appears I cannot use the license on the new workstation. *facepalm*.  I suppose I would suggest not using an offline license unless all is going 100% smooth.
 
I have an email to ChaosGroup support, but they have been spoken about as unreceptive with respect to support. Crossing fingers that won't be the case. 
 
Note this dialogue still shows in FormZ even though I can connect to the V-Ray OLS now:

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 13.46.21.png   395.05KB   1 downloads
 
Will update as more comes to pass. Hopefully it's helpful to someone, and hopefully others may have suggestions. 
 
__



#10 spaceagency

spaceagency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 12:34 PM

UPDATE on this issue:

 

Got a response from ChaosGroup. They are setting up a web meeting with me. The timezone differential EET vs PST is a bit tricky, but will attempt on Monday. I think I understand what the problem might be now, but have no control to change the borrowed license problem. Based on ChaosGroup forum, it appears that ChaosGroup support is the only one that can release the borrowed license. 

 

My other question is, why did this happen in the first place? Seems like the possible source is the install that comes with the last email update for the V-Ray beta as I believe everything was working before that. 

 

Also, I see a V-Ray beta forum that I don't have access to and am wondering if an answer might be in there. Can anyone help with respect to accessing that beta forum?



#11 spaceagency

spaceagency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 January 2018 - 10:51 AM

UPDATE on online license server issue.

 

ChaosGroup released the borrowed license file and now all appears to be working properly.

 

So my fix was:

1.) fixing the borrowed license issue that I had improperly requested.

2.) the deletion of the original hidden files in: /Users/"username"/.ChaosGroup

3.) reinstall of online license server version 4.4.1 ADV from ChaosGroup (NOT from the FormZ download)

 

I'm not sure exactly what caused this, but the problem did start after I downloaded and installed the FormZ 8.6 #9999 build and the V-Ray #1148 build.

 



#12 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 364 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 16 January 2018 - 04:48 AM

please can we get a simple solution from chaosgroup / autodessys in form of a fixed installer? i still need to evaluate if to buy a license. with the last beta the whole plugin / fz combo seems to run in a rather unstable way and the licensing issues on top are not really helping to find out if this a viable production environment. another problem is also that the plugin needs last 8.6 fz beta - which is rather buggy and has an broken UI.


Edited by 3dworks, 16 January 2018 - 04:49 AM.

3dworks visual computing + photography


#13 Shibui Design

Shibui Design

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 16 January 2018 - 08:21 AM

please can we get a simple solution from chaosgroup / autodessys in form of a fixed installer? i still need to evaluate if to buy a license. with the last beta the whole plugin / fz combo seems to run in a rather unstable way and the licensing issues on top are not really helping to find out if this a viable production environment. another problem is also that the plugin needs last 8.6 fz beta - which is rather buggy and has an broken UI.

 

Yes, please, please, one installer to install formZ and Vray when the final release is ready. Problems like this does not encourage adoption rates.



#14 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,163 posts

Posted 16 January 2018 - 05:40 PM

All, 

 

The problem existed in an earlier installer of V-Ray for formZ The installer had set some permissions wrong and that can cause problems for future installations as well. The problem has been fixed in the current installer, but you may need to apply the above fix to instal the latest version properly. Please recognize that this is a beta version and beta versions serve the purpose of working out these kind of issues. If you are not comfortable in working through these issues, then its probably best to wait for the release.

 

With regards too the "broken UI" comment. There is an issue in the current v8.6 WIP that causes UI elements to be sized improperly on some systems. We have fixed this issue and a new 8.6 WIP will be coming soon.

 

 

A single installer is not an option. They will remain independent so that we can update both without dependency on each other.

 



#15 pointer

pointer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationMidlands, UK

Posted 31 January 2018 - 06:02 AM

Hi All,

Great to see the releases today. 

I've followed the install to the letter but within FormZ I am getting the following warning 'Could not obtain VRay license'.  I've logged into the Chaos Group License server and I can see that our two licenses are checked but not engaged.  

If I check the notifications section I have two entries, 1) vrlservice stopped and 2) dongle subsystem unavailable (connect ECONNREFUSED)

Can anyone help out? I have tried restarting and also uninstalling and reinstalling the V-Ray license server too.

Thanks



#16 Smarttec

Smarttec

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts

Posted 31 January 2018 - 05:20 PM

The beta program has been completed - NO beta V-Ray's will now work as they have released both v8.6 ( now the release version )  and  V-Ray itself - you will need to buy it!



#17 pointer

pointer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationMidlands, UK

Posted 01 February 2018 - 03:59 AM

^ I am referring to purchased versions, not the beta!



#18 pointer

pointer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • LocationMidlands, UK

Posted 01 February 2018 - 04:36 AM

Resolved.  Thanks to Jaakko on the other thread as follows:

 

I had same "Could not obtain VRay license" error. What I did was

1. I uninstalled both V-Ray and License Server
2. downloaded latest "vrlservice", link from Chaosgroup email, and installed
3. installed V-Ray

After this it worked fine. I think it has something to do with earlier installs which get messed up.
Hope this helps.



#19 nano

nano

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationSydney, Australia

Posted 01 February 2018 - 06:50 AM

Hi just to say I finally got the download links etc and vray all working in formz on my Mac

 

I had that same VROL service issue but now it's fixed and working ok after doing the permissions fix.

It took a few variations but completely deleting the older files seemed to help in my case - maybe there was leftover stuff from early beta versions.

 

I did this:

​Removed 8.5WIP folder

​Removed vray beta plugin folder from plugins in formz folder

uninstalled the existing vrol service
restarted machine
installed forrmz8.6 and registered it
restarted machine
did permissions fix on chaos group folder
restarted machine
reinstalled server
all working ok
installed VRAY plugin
all good
 

  • Jaakko likes this

#20 Justin Montoya

Justin Montoya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts

Posted 01 February 2018 - 03:43 PM

I think this has to do with the Beta installs needing to be uninstalled completely.  I also saw this on Windows 10, so I don't think it's a Mac issue.
 
Just a heads up, after installing the new 8.6 and Vray and VRLservice, I was getting an error that the VRAY license could not be obtained.  I checked the localhost and saw the licenses were there, but it wasn't reading them for some reason.  I fixed it by:
 
Checking in installed programs (Windows 10), I could see multiple VRAY for Formz installs (see attached).   So I went trough and uninstalled everything Vray, Vray for FormZ, Vray license service....etc.  And kept the newest FormZ 8.6 installed.  
 
Once everything was uninstalled, I then installed the VRAY license server, and the Vray for FormZ again.  Reboot just in case.
 
All is working as it should now.  

Attached Files


  • Jaakko likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users