AutoDesSys

Component problems

jeffgrune

I am running into big problems with Components. A couple of years ago, I made a run at switching over to 8.X, but ran into Component problems, so I went back to using 6.5. I've been using formZ for 20 years and the Symbol system was always reliable. Its editability  improved over the years. Files with placed symbols were compact. The Symbol Library file could be opened, edited and the changes would be reflected in all instances of the symbol anywhere it was placed.

My principal client has hundreds of products that are updated regularly. I have been able to reliably swap out multiple Symbol instances with instances of other products. 

Anticipating the end of support for 32-bit applications, I am again trying to transition from the tried-and-true FormZ 6.5 to the 64-bit FormZ 8.5. The faster shaded working render and ability to RenderZone larger scenes are welcome improvements. 

Now, with the Component system, every placed Component becomes embedded, increasing the file size. What was a 3 MB file in FormZ 6.5 has become a 202 MB file in FormZ 8.5. Changing a layer a Component is on brings a dialog about changing the original Component. It shouldn't matter to the original what layer a Component is on in a scene. The Components also bring their layer info with them and add it to the list of layers in the scene.