Jump to content


Photo

V-Ray for form•Z Beta now available!


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 26 October 2017 - 11:22 AM

We are excited to announce that the V-Ray for formZ plugin is available for public beta testing.

Sign up here: http://www.formz.com...rayLanding.html


  • Des and Justin Montoya like this

#2 ZTEK

ZTEK

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 77 posts
  • LocationSantiago - Chile

Posted 26 October 2017 - 03:38 PM

Great and my congratulations!!!

 

Very important to formZ and its community.

 

Marcelo



#3 AC1000

AC1000

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 30 October 2017 - 05:51 PM

Great! I just started to play with beta. It is just amazing!

 

Which email address should I send the bug reports to?



#4 palarsen

palarsen

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 31 October 2017 - 05:10 AM

Downloaded, installed, licensed. Not showing up in form•Z 8.6

Not visible in the Extension manager even after checkin paths

Anybody?

 



#5 Jaakko

Jaakko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 31 October 2017 - 08:42 AM

I had a same problem. Downloaded the latest 8.6 build 9981, that solved the problem for me.    (http://www.formz.com...n_progress.html)

Actually my screen shows build 9983???

 

Attached File  build.jpg   24.99KB   0 downloads

 

Hope this helps.


  • palarsen likes this

#6 AC1000

AC1000

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 31 October 2017 - 09:25 AM

I had also problems until downloaded the fresh build.

 

Now I am wondering if there is option to import Vray scenes (from Sketchup). That would solve all file conversion problems. 



#7 Jaakko

Jaakko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 31 October 2017 - 10:10 AM

Where I can find the best tutorials for V-Ray?



#8 Shibui Design

Shibui Design

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 31 October 2017 - 12:27 PM

Wow, thanks for the update and public beta!

 

While attempting to load pre-built vrmat files from the folder "V-Ray for formZ Beta" within the Plugins folder, the file system allows the selection of a material however the "open" button does not responding, making it impossible to load a pre-built material. Is this a known issue?



#9 Shibui Design

Shibui Design

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 31 October 2017 - 12:32 PM

Opps- here's this critical info. Using MacOS Sierra 10.12.6



#10 Smarttec

Smarttec

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 31 October 2017 - 05:19 PM

I had also problems until downloaded the fresh build.

 

Now I am wondering if there is option to import Vray scenes (from Sketchup). That would solve all file conversion problems. 

No unfortunately isn't a way to import Vray scenes from other Vray scenes created in other modellers like Maya and 3D Max can - you can export them from formZ and I believe Maya and 3D Max Vray can import the Vray scene you create in formZ.

I would love to see formZ have that flexibility.



#11 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:59 AM

The ability to import scenes is coming. We are waiting on a new version of the SDK from Chaos to support this.



#12 Des

Des

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 363 posts
  • LocationIreland

Posted 01 November 2017 - 08:51 AM

Is it inadvisable to install this along with say... Maxwell?

I mean on the same FormZ V8.6 copy on the same machine?

 

I want to try out Vray but I'm still working on Maxwell dependent jobs at the moment.

 

Thanks,

 

Des


Edited by Des, 01 November 2017 - 08:52 AM.


#13 Jaakko

Jaakko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 01 November 2017 - 09:36 AM

After few hours testing I think V-Ray feels promising.  :) Good work Chaos and ADS.

 

Attached File  test1.jpg   215KB   0 downloads


  • Smarttec likes this

#14 Shibui Design

Shibui Design

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 01 November 2017 - 09:45 AM

@Smarttec and Tech,

 

My post above is misunderstood.

 

I'm not looking to import scenes. There's something wrong with the file system when trying to import vrmats (Vray includes a materials library in the form of .vrmat file.) It is not possible to import because once the file is selected, the open button does not work.



#15 Justin Montoya

Justin Montoya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 339 posts

Posted 01 November 2017 - 05:25 PM

Shibui Design,

 

Loading .vrmat material files is working fine for me here on both Mac and W10.  I'm not sure why you are having trouble, but as always, try a system reboot and see if that helps.  If still not, I would make sure you have the latest WIP build 9983 - ...and after installing that, try reinstalling the Vray for Formz plugin.


Edited by Justin Montoya, 01 November 2017 - 05:30 PM.


#16 Jaakko

Jaakko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 03 November 2017 - 05:31 AM

Is there an email address for v-ray related bug reports etc.?



#17 AC1000

AC1000

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 03 November 2017 - 07:42 AM

Is there an email address for v-ray related bug reports etc.?

 

We also need tutorials and manual.

 

I can't create proxy objects in Form Z. It doesn't create any file. In Sketchup you must group objects before exporting vray proxies. But that is not the case in Form Z or is it?

 

Now I don't know if I am doing something wrong or wrestling with a bug. 

 

But again, Great work AutoDesSys and Chaos Group!


  • Jaakko likes this

#18 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 06 November 2017 - 07:01 AM

The create proxy tool requires a click in the window to define the origin. Then it will ask for the name and location for the vrmesh file to be saved. We observed that the prompts are not functioning for this tool. Also the icon should stay selected to indicate it is the active tool. We will get this fixed, but the tool does work even without these (you just need to click to define the origin)

 

Please send any emails to vray@formz.com

 


  • Jaakko likes this

#19 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 06 November 2017 - 02:00 PM

We posted new builds of V-Ray for formZ and formZ 8.6 WIP this morning (11-06-17). All beta testers should receive and email with the details (or you can use the links from the previous email to install the latest version)


  • Jaakko and Justin Montoya like this

#20 Smarttec

Smarttec

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 07 November 2017 - 08:43 PM

Where I can find the best tutorials for V-Ray?


  • Jaakko likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users