Jump to content


Photo

form·Z 8.6 Pro WIP Download Available! ;)


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#41 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 30 November 2017 - 12:04 PM

Nice, when will the new build of FZ 8.6 be ready for download?

 

Where are the informations about the state of affairs about FZ 9 by the way…?


  • Dwaynewees likes this

#42 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,149 posts

Posted 30 November 2017 - 07:52 PM

formZ pro 8.6 WIP has been updated. You can download from the same location (http://www.formz.com...n_progress.html)

New in build #9991:

- The context menu invoked by right-clicking on objects now has options to Select Clone Families, and make the object's Material, Layer, Line weight or Line Style active.

- Undo/Redo now work properly on OS X 10.13 (High Sierra).
- Auto Save by time interval now works properly.
- SketchUp Materials now Import properly.
- SketchUp 2018 Now supported.
- Export DWG/DXF speed improved.
- Import KMZ files now works properly.
- The Reduce tool no longer stops when encountering an object that can not be reduced (when multiple objects are selected).
- Various stability and performance improvements.


  • Jaakko and etroxel like this

#43 chrisjk

chrisjk

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 December 2017 - 02:15 AM

I am still unable to import Sketchup 2018 models.



#44 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,149 posts

Posted 01 December 2017 - 10:38 AM

chrisjk,

 

Are you on OS X or Windows?



#45 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,149 posts

Posted 01 December 2017 - 11:45 AM

ASONE,

 

We have had no other reports like this. Can you please send a simple sample file that will not open in 8.6 to support@formz.com so that we can investigate. Are you using OS X or Windows? Have you submitted the crash log?

 

Thanks!



#46 chrisjk

chrisjk

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 03 December 2017 - 07:31 AM

chrisjk,

 

Are you on OS X or Windows?

I am on OS X



#47 allan

allan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 07 December 2017 - 03:22 AM

One  thing I'd like to see back on formZ is the disturb points tool. Will this functionality be back? It was very useful to me back in v. 6. Anyone else agree?

 

The second thing I'd like to mention is that although I emailed support over 10 days ago about an issue on WIP 8.6 they never responded. The problem I brought to light also occurs on v. 8.5.7. Try this for yourself: Create a cube on the ground plane. Rotate it any angle other than orthogonal. Look at one of its faces in elevation. Turn on ortho. Try drawing with the vector tool. Yeah, it goes nuts. No try moving the cube keeping ortho on vertically. Nuts again. None of this happens if you're looking in 3d though. Can this please fixed? In architecture we like to draw straight lines using ortho a lot, especially in elevation projection views.



#48 R2D2

R2D2

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 08 December 2017 - 06:31 AM

Allan did you click "define reference plane" on the face you want to draw on (after "look at...") ?



#49 allan

allan

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 130 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 08 December 2017 - 03:21 PM

Allan did you click "define reference plane" on the face you want to draw on (after "look at...") ?

Yes I did. This happens to me on PC's. I have not investigated on Mac's.



#50 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 21 December 2017 - 08:38 AM

Using FormZ 8.6.0 Build 9995 and V-Ray 3.6.0.2 I would like to say,

that it is getting better and better, but:

 

If there are already some V-Ray Materials defined, Form.Z crashes very often when create a new one by clicking in the materials palette.

By the way: I would appreciate it, if you would adjust the design of the V-Ray render viewport...

 



#51 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,149 posts

Posted 27 December 2017 - 11:14 PM

AHDD,

 

We are working on the crash. This appears to be a recent disturbance caused by some new optimizations. We expect to have a fix soon, WRT the UI of the  V-Ray viewport (VFB), we do not control this as it is integrated into V-Ray. We can pass along your suggestions. What would you like to see improved?



#52 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 09 January 2018 - 10:43 AM

Cut Palettes Icons
 
Working with MacOs High Sierra 10.13.3 and formZ 8.6 Build 9999
 Due to the longer input field certain icons are cut.
 
Please see screenshot.

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Palettes.jpg

Edited by AHDD Designer, 09 January 2018 - 10:44 AM.


#53 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 09 January 2018 - 05:05 PM

what happened to the UI in the latest release build 9999? almost all palettes and dialogs show a space consuming larger layout. as if the whole UI had been scaled up? or is it only a local issue with my installation? OSX 10.12.x here...

Attached Thumbnails

  • screenshot_20180109_Layers.png

Edited by 3dworks, 09 January 2018 - 05:05 PM.

3dworks visual computing + photography


#54 Andrew West

Andrew West

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • LocationBend Oregon

Posted 10 January 2018 - 09:54 PM

What I personally would like to see is a UI that is similar to 3ds Max or any other major modeling program.  What I mean by that is I would like to do away with all the floating palettes that have to be open all the time.  Picture this: you have one decent monitor but to work on your project you have to have the modeling window as big as possible.  In order to use the palettes that I need I have to open the following: Lights, Layers, Materials, Views, Tool options, Material Parameters, Vray tools, Vray lights, Vray Settings, and a few floating palettes of the tools I use most like T-form, Attributes, Modify, and reshape.  Now if I have one screen I can no longer see my project window.  So now I buy a second monitor that is a lot larger to just hold all those floating palettes. Nuts!. Forget working on a laptop in a clients office.   Hasn't anyone studied how other programs deal with this situation or are they just inventing from scratch with no reference material?  I think I would be a lot less frustrated if I didn't have to constantly search for palettes totally or partially hidden all the time or if they actually displayed properly when I open a project. 

Now that I am done griping I must add that I am still in love with Form.z as a whole.  It could just be so much better and a lot more  user friendly to the new user trying to get up to speed.  As a long time user (over 30 years) I have a familiarity to the way things work and I know how to work around issues.  But that is exactly the problem.  If they want to attract new users and survive they need to develop a program that doesn't need to be a "work around" but a "work through" without the constant diagnosing and triage.  I realize there is no perfect program out there and I have crashed the best of them (photoshop) on occasion.  But adding more bells and whistles to a program that is inherently flawed reminds me of my current car:  Lots of new cool electronic gadgets to play with that will brake but no real difference in the way it drives.  There really needs to be a fundamental redesign of the core program.  Drop down Menus please!  Easier said than I am sure.



#55 Jaakko

Jaakko

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • LocationFinland

Posted 11 January 2018 - 03:20 AM

I agree with Andrew. GUI is not the best part of formZ. It could be tidier, more precise and solid. There are odd flaws here and there. Basically everything works well, but the look and the feeling are not always at the same level as the rest of the software. Don't get me wrong I really like formZ a lot. It's my best tool since 1997. 


Edited by Jaakko, 11 January 2018 - 03:21 AM.

  • vva likes this

#56 ASONE

ASONE

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • LocationBoulder, Colorado, USA

Posted 11 January 2018 - 01:24 PM

I would love to see the palette dock turn into names with icons, ala Photoshop.  Or just icons with optional names, just like the tools.  Click once on the name and/or icon and the palette pops open.  Click once again and it contracts.  There is far too much double clicking & scrolling to use the current palette dock effectively.  It takes too much time & effort to one click on the little arrow to expand/contract the palette.  Therefore I also end up with tons of floating palettes.  At the office I have three screens so this isn't too much an issue.  On the laptop it is a mess. 

 

I should note I still like the flexibility of floating palettes.  I would hate to lose that functionality.  With an icon palette dock there should still be the option for tear away palettes.  


FormZ PRO v8.5.  2017 iMac 4.0 GHz quad core i7 24MB RAM and a 2015 Macbook Pro quad core i7 16MB RAM, Modern Architecture in Boulder and Denver Colorado www.ASONEarchitecture.com 


#57 AHDD Designer

AHDD Designer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 15 January 2018 - 10:20 AM

Yes, the UI is really a bad and sad story. Since the first days Version 7 came out, I have reported again and again issues, bulky things and desolate designs of the UI to Autodessys, without understanding.

This is all the more pitiful, since the program actually offers great features and the versions up to v6 were so elegant…



#58 spaceagency

spaceagency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 January 2018 - 12:06 PM

Echoing the UI commentary here. And don't get me wrong, I fully appreciate all the hard work going into the new features, stabilization of bugs, etc. But the UI issues really affect nearly every release. Realizing that no one will be completely satisfied with the UI but generally, it is a real problem, I would be so grateful a single release that doesn't just give a minor tweak to the UI making it a tiny bit better but instead looks at the UI concept and brings it into competition with other software. For Mac OS, my biggest issues (other than the new palette oversize bug in build #9999) are:

 

1.) TABS. Just look around, every software has adopted this, because, they work, and hey, if you don’t like using them, then cool, have your stuff floating around, but please, at least give us the option of a tabbed interface. Tabbed windows. Tabbed palettes. Tabbed tools, They tend to work. See Adobe. 

 

2.) Can we please just have ALL the palettes have consistent magnetic snapping to each other? And maybe snap them to a grid, having that grid be customizable would also be nice, but I’ll settle for just having consistent palette intercase snapping. Why the palette dock itself does not have that feature is just beyond me. I really just hate that palette, it's always floating about in the way somewhere, and then when I use it, it locates itself to a new location and then I have to move it back. The modeling tool palette, and the tool dock palette also have this non magnetic issue sometimes. Perhaps there's a setting I missed somewhere to turn that on (please enlighten me). Typically I just close that palette.

 

2.) based on the current concept for the UI, shouldn't the palette dock itself be more flexible/customizable? Like having different palettes that are related to each other be able to be docked side by side, or grouped together...(views, view and view parameters, materials, and material parameters for example) 

 

3.) Why is the tool dock called the tool dock if I can't dock modeling tools there? Again this one is also closed because it doesn’t function consistently. 

 

3.) I'm not a full 100% fan of Adobe's interface on photoshop, but I will say this, it works, and it works with ease. The  palette docking works, the tabs work, the fullscreen vs windowed document view works. And it's fluid. (Others may disagree)  But I can't say the same for FormZ. When I end up with a palette that I want out but it remains floating or has no alignment with other palettes, it results in a "jagged" interface, or obscures what I want to see, and  I want to just get rid of the palette. Some may say, just go to key commands or the favorites, but that doesn't work all the time. 

 

4.) did I mention TABS. Please, PLEASE give us a tabbed interface.

 

5.) The favorites overlay interface that pops up on a key press, I feel this was a step in the right direction. I use it constantly. And I wish I had more of those, particularly for layers, for snapping, or other groupings of modeling tools. The crux of that is that I want to see my work when I’m working on it, and I want to see my interface when I need to interface with it. 

 

6.) The one palette that tends to alway stay open unless I’m just navigating around  a model is the Tool Options palettes as it’s the one major dynamic interface element other than the input palette. At times I wish those two palettes could be integrated somehow. 

 

 

Again, echoing others, It’s time for this interface to evolve. All the above said, thanks to all of those at formZ for all the hard work.

 

  • Des, vva, 3dworks and 1 other like this

#59 Hugo

Hugo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 16 January 2018 - 04:33 AM

Unfortunately, I would like to go back just 1 version of the WIP. I realize this version got serious bugs. How can I get the previous version?


VANDENBOOMEN-ARCHITECTen...

 

MACOS 10.12 SIERRA | Form Z 8.5.7 | Vectorworks 2017 SP | AutoCad 2017 LT | Maxwell Render 4.1.x.x | Thea Render | Renderzone | Affinity Photo and Designer

Mac Pro late 2013 8-core 3.0Ghz 32Gb RAM, 2x FirePro D500 3GB | MacBook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 i7 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M 2Gb+Intel Iris

Mac Pro mid 2010 12-core 3,46Ghz 96Gb RAM, SSD | Mac Mini mid 2010 2,4Ghz 2-core 16Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce 320M 256MB | Cinema Display 27" 2560x1440 | LG 31" 4K 4096x2160


#60 Hugo

Hugo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • LocationNetherlands

Posted 16 January 2018 - 05:05 AM

I found the previous version build 9995 in my Time Machine, replaced version build 9999, and it works perfect again...  :)


VANDENBOOMEN-ARCHITECTen...

 

MACOS 10.12 SIERRA | Form Z 8.5.7 | Vectorworks 2017 SP | AutoCad 2017 LT | Maxwell Render 4.1.x.x | Thea Render | Renderzone | Affinity Photo and Designer

Mac Pro late 2013 8-core 3.0Ghz 32Gb RAM, 2x FirePro D500 3GB | MacBook Pro Retina 15" mid 2014 i7 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M 2Gb+Intel Iris

Mac Pro mid 2010 12-core 3,46Ghz 96Gb RAM, SSD | Mac Mini mid 2010 2,4Ghz 2-core 16Gb RAM, Nvidia GeForce 320M 256MB | Cinema Display 27" 2560x1440 | LG 31" 4K 4096x2160





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users