Jump to content


Photo

Creating a Window Component


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 squiggles

squiggles

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 August 2017 - 07:27 PM

Hi,

say, I need a different size of a window or a door. Editing an existing component got very messy and the edited window stopped cutting into the wall. Trying to make my own and use the manual as a reference. What I've got is a grouped object that I can place on the wall ok, but it doesn't cut through it. Is anyone successfully made a window by himself? 

Thanks

 


  • JerodMl and Davinhex like this

#2 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 23 August 2017 - 10:03 AM

squiggles, 

 

Have you seen the video tutorial explaining doors and windows?  About halfway through the video, the proper way to create your doors and windows is explained in detail:  https://youtu.be/cHLPWlu5Ipk?t=4m7s



#3 squiggles

squiggles

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 August 2017 - 03:07 PM

Hi Tech,

Thanks for the quick reply. In a new file placing a door or a window from the standard program library gives me the same error, it doesn't cut through the wall. When the Component Manager is opened it kind of stuck on abstract people even when the window/door tab is pressed (it still shows people). What should I do? 



#4 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 August 2017 - 09:27 AM

Squiggles, 

 

Which version of formZ are you using?  And on which operating system?



#5 squiggles

squiggles

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 August 2017 - 02:48 PM

The latest Windows and FormZ Free. I tried to reinstall the program but have the same issue with the new install. I'm sure components worked before I started to mess with it.



#6 Smarttec

Smarttec

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 24 August 2017 - 09:19 PM

The video that FZ supplied is perfect but if your window/door is not placing it or punching holes through the wall it probably you not using the 'Place Window/Door tool' but the 'Place Component' tool -

 

 

It is sometimes easy to mistake the their different function.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screenshot 2017-08-25 12.15.44.png


#7 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 25 August 2017 - 09:40 AM

Squiggles, 

 

Per Smarttec's suggestion, are you using the Place Component tool instead of Place Doors/Windows?

 

I suppose this could be a little clearer between the two tools since you can select doors and windows with the place component tool... we will see if we can improve this in the future.



#8 squiggles

squiggles

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 02:35 PM

Yes! too many similar icons. Thanks



#9 pipo

pipo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 28 August 2017 - 04:06 AM

While on the subject of window components ....

 

The window component tool in its current form is next to useless for my architectural purposes .

 

A large percentage of windows (also doors) used in modern architecture are of a recessed type  , i.e. the frame sits within the outer faces of the wall.

 

The component tool as is does not permit the creation or insertion of this type of arrangement

 

Can this be rectified ?


  • etroxel likes this

#10 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 28 August 2017 - 08:07 AM

Pipo, 

 

 

We will see if we can add these window type components in the future.  Thanks for the suggestion. 


  • etroxel likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users