Jump to content


Photo

Maxwell Forum


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 pipo

pipo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 09:58 AM

Apologies for posting this here but what's up with the Maxwell forum ?

Its been down for a long while now and there seems to be no link to a (future) forum anywhere on the Maxwell site.

Hope this isn't a case of burying bad press because in this case no news is rather bad news


  • DeanAmbiree, Vilmaundumb, VaughnNub and 5 others like this

#2 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 10:08 AM

Hi Pipo, 

 

We are not having any issues accessing the Maxwell forum via the formZ forums link.  Perhaps the forum was down sometime over the weekend when you previously tried to access it?  Also, Pylon was active just last week responding to user inquires.  If you have any issues, you can post them here and I'm sure within a business day or two you will get a response. 



#3 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 743 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 10 April 2017 - 02:42 PM

Hi Pipo,

 

It looks like Next Limit is working on forum improvements, and have provided a support link: http://www.maxwellre...esources-forum/

 

Of course you are welcome to write for support on the Maxwell for formZ forum here, too.



#4 John Watson

John Watson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 12:22 PM

Would somebody - maxwell for formz - please provide a KEYPOINT within FORMZ picking options for the insert point of MXS files.  This way, I can know where the insertion point is if I need to move the MXS file around as I am continuing to design my project.

 

thanks

 

John Watson



#5 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 743 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 10 August 2017 - 03:21 PM

Hi John,
We're not sure what you mean. Can you clarify your request, perhaps with an example or screen shots?

#6 John Watson

John Watson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 August 2017 - 11:55 AM

I work on a model and then want to make an MXS file from it.  So in CREATE MXS Tool Options - Create MXS dialog, I am required to specify a "Reference Origin" using any of 4 options, Base of Selection, Center of Selection, As Placed in Project, Or Click Point.

 

Once specified, I provide a file name and the MXS file is create.

 

ALL IS GOOD.

 

Now, I go to another drawing and I want to PLACE a MXS file and I specify the MXS name in the Tool Options - Place MXS dialog box and several parameters including Display (I choose Bounding Box), No Scaling, No Rotation - AND in the upper left hand corner of the screen I have Place MXS: Creates a Maxwell Reference Object - - Click: Define Origin Point.  I can click a point in the drawing, or what I usually do is specify in the X Y Z input boxes (in the upper left hand corner of the screen) 0,0,0.  This puts the new MXS file with an exact known point (the DEFINED REFERENCE POINT (from the PLACE command)) exactly at 0,0,0.  I can then MOVE the MXS file to a any point.  ALL IS GOOD.

 

Now, in my case what I am doing is creating a 3d model of an apartment community on a 10 acres site.  I have a known point on the site that I can always reference back to, and when I am working, I load the MXS files of one of the completed apartment buildings into the FORMZ site plan, moving the buildings to their proper location.  I do this several times, including placing a leasing office more or less in the middle of the site.  So far ALL IS GOOD.  

 

Now, I do a MAXWELL RENDER of the project from the exit door of the leasing office looking out across a lawn and I realize I want to move one of the apartment MXS files "to the right so that the REFERENCE ORIGIN is exactly on the CENTERLINE of Leasing Office door.  I can PICK the MXS file using the topological level of OBJECT, but I have no SNAP "KEY POINT" to "grab", so I can't ever know precisely where that is or how to get it to line up.  

 

SO, when an MXS bounding box is selected, could you please provide a KEY POINT at the REFERENCE ORIGIN of that bounding box on the drawing screen so that I can grab it and move, rotate, ...  as I need.

 

Thank you.



#7 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 743 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 14 August 2017 - 10:04 AM

Sorry, I've read you description several times, but I do not fully understand what you are asking for.

 

Have you tried temporarily switching your References to display as points, and use the points for alignment? (Point snapping works with references, for bounding box and point display.)



#8 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 14 August 2017 - 02:54 PM

John, 

 

Can you post your file and/or a screenshot to the forum to help illustrate your issue?  Please keep the file and description as simple as possible.  That is, if you are having a problem that can be explained with one object and 3 different steps to reproduce the problem, there is no need to send a file with hundreds of objects.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users