Jump to content


Photo

V4 Install Issue


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 cmick9

cmick9

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 12:54 PM

I upgraded to V4 this morning and began the installation process. Downloaded Maxwell_4.0.0.8_for_formZ_8 and tried to run the RLM License Server and get an error message.

 

I've trie to run the licenses activator many time and it says its completed successfully but every time I launch the program it tells me its missing licenses information...

 

What should I try to get this to successfully launch?

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • V4 Install Issues.jpeg

  • kavbratszs, DeanAmbiree and Lizaitala like this

#2 cmick9

cmick9

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 01:26 PM

License Activator process image below

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • V4 Install Isue 2.jpeg

Edited by cmick9, 28 November 2016 - 01:26 PM.


#3 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 28 November 2016 - 02:00 PM

Hi,

 

Do you have a floating license, or a node-locked license? If node-locked, you should not run the RLM installer.

 

If floating, you do need to install the RLM server somewhere on your network, if it isn't already. Thank for alerting us to the issue with the folder name. As a workaround, after copying the "Maxwell" folder to your Plugins folder from the disk image, rename the folder called "rlm" to "rlm_nl" and then double-click on the RLM License Server.app that resides in the same directory. It will then install properly.

 

Thanks for your report, we will get this corrected.

 

 



#4 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 03:17 PM

I am having the same issue. I used the workaround you suggested and renamed the folder from "rlm" to "rlm_nl" and I was able to install the license server. I restarted my Mac and launched FromZ which then launched the license activator. I went through the normal steps to activate the license (enter my email, login password, license key), but when I finished, I got an error that says the license server could not be found because it's not running. I have had this problem with the Maxwell 3 license server after updating my Mac OS to Sierra. 

And now it's happening again. 

It took about 2 weeks to get Nextlimit support to help me fix the issue. I really don't have the time to go through that whole process again. This is ridiculous.


  • cmick9 likes this

#5 cmick9

cmick9

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 03:59 PM

My license is a floating license with 10 additional render nodes. I installed the RLM and restarted... still won't store activation codes... Launch Maxwell and tells me no license found after saying it was successful... 

 

I had the same issues with V3 and Sierra update...took weeks to get it fixed also... that was working fine but I'm sure this has it messed up now.

 

Why the 2 separate codes now... why do they make us choose 2 products? I have a code for my formZ and then I have a code for Studio... Is this causing some sort of conflict?

 

Is V3 causing a conflict... do I need to remove all of V3 first? Or can I just add new codes to license?

 

So convoluted... 



#6 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 04:55 PM

So, now I see that there is a rlm executable file in the rlm_nl folder in the formZ maxwell plugin folder. If I double click on it, Terminal is launched and it appears to be the rlm server. I then go to FormZ and try to activate the license and it seems to work. I don't get the error message that says that the license server is not running. 

But, when I go to render something, the license activator app relaunches and wants me to go through the activation process again. 



#7 cmick9

cmick9

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 05:11 PM

I tried to launch the demo... and thought if it worked I'd update license info.

 

Demo activation worked and upon launches doesn't prompt me to re enter activation process... I however don't seem able to activate with my codes after that....

 


Edited by cmick9, 28 November 2016 - 05:12 PM.


#8 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 28 November 2016 - 05:49 PM

Hi,

 

 First, let me say that I do not have any control over the licensing system Next Limit uses, so if you have complaints or recommendations about RLM you should address them to Next Limit management directly (Next Limit management does not read this forum).

 

The licensing system is a is largely independent of the plugin, and while I will do my best to offer some suggestions, as a plugin developer I can't solve specific licensing issues.

 

•Make sure you indeed have Maxwell_4.0.0.8_for_formZ_8 and not a prior version.

•Restarting your computer after RLM is installed is absolutely required for it to work. Make sure to do that if you have not already.

•Try running the licenseactivator.app again from the Plugins/Maxwell/ folder.

 

Further info: http://support.nextl...ense activation

 

I have contacted Next Limit and asked them for a standard end-user license like yours through the customer portal so I can test this myself. Once I get this from Next Limit, I will write up instructions for formZ users, if necessary, or inform Next Limit what needs to be fixed, if anything.

 

Thanks for your patience. It will all get sorted...

 

 



#9 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 06:22 PM

Believe me, I've let them know how frustrated I have been with the licensing system. 

I am already well aware of all of the necessary steps you listed above. For me, the permissions problem started happening with Mac OS Sierra. After two weeks of back and forth with NL tech support, I was finally able to get them to fix Maxwell 3 remotely via TeamViewer. But now that I've upgraded to Maxwell 4, the issue is back, and I don't know what they did to fix the issue with Maxwell 3. 

Thank you for looking into this. It takes a very long time to get help from NL. So I'm trying to find answers and solutions anywhere I can think of.



#10 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 06:35 PM

I should add, restarting is NOT launching the rlm servers for Maxwell 4. 

 

I have tried manually launching what I think is the rlm server from the rlm_nl folder that is in the maxwell formz plugin folder. But when I launch the administration browser, (http://localhost:5054) it shows that no servers are running. I try to "reread/relaunch servers" and still it shows that no servers are running.



#11 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 28 November 2016 - 07:06 PM

Hi David,

 

I haven't had any of these difficulties with my licenses, but I'll try to help if I can.

 

The RLM server launches automatically from /Users/Shared/NextLimit/rlm_nl/ It must be functioning on your machine, or else you would not see the RLM web page which it is serving.

It seems that it is not finding your license, however.

 

So, on the mac, the Maxwell .lic file RLM is stored in /Users/Shared/NextLimit/rlm_nl/licenses/ 

You might want to

1) check that and make sure the .lic are present and the content looks okay

2) Make sure your username has read&write privileges for "Next Limit" on down- perhaps Sierra is prohibiting the license activator from writing license info to this location. http://www.macinstruct.com/node/415

 

There should also be a .lic in ~/Next Limit/Maxwell/licenses/

This one just points Maxwell to RLM if you have floating license and typically reads "HOST <host address> 5053"

 



#12 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 28 November 2016 - 07:19 PM

Also, follow up with whoever was helping you via Teamviewer, and ask what they did to remedy the situation with OSX Sierra, and please post the answer here.



#13 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 07:41 PM

I'm still confused about all of the different rlm servers that are part of Maxwell 4 now. So, yes. There is a rlm server in the /Users/Shared/NextLimit/rlm_nl/ folder. I can activate the license for the standalone Studio application and Maxwell itself. But I could not activate the license for the FormZ plugin with that rlm server. I had to find the rlm server that is located in the rlm_nl folder in the maxwell plugin folder in FormZ. Once I launch the rlm server found in the FormZ Maxwell plugin folder, the activation seems to work. It says that the plugin is licensed succesfullly, but then the activation app is launched again once I try to render with the plugin in FormZ. So the license file is not being written in the right place. there are license folders and files all over my mac now and I have no idea which one needs to be where. This is extremely frustrating.

I will try to ask them what they did. But I'm not hopeful. It's like talking to a black hole with NL support sometimes.



#14 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 28 November 2016 - 07:55 PM

 

I'm still confused about all of the different rlm servers that are part of Maxwell 4 now.

There is only one; it runs from /Users/Shared/NextLimit/rlm_nl/

 

You should not manually launch rlm by clicking on anything. The "rlm" file in Plugins/Maxwell/ is only there for use by the RLM installer (RLM License Server.app). I will see if it can be deleted automatically after installation.

 

Did you check the license files in the (correct) locations that I provided paths to in my previous post?



#15 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 28 November 2016 - 08:07 PM

Yes, I do see the license files you mentioned. and they are in the right location. But i have no idea if they are the license files for Maxwell 3, and if the license server that is running now is the old server. Because now I'm seeing in the terminal window for the rlm server that's running a message that says, that the Maxwell 4 version is not supported.

I have tried install the new RLM server. I got a message that says that the server was installed properly. I restarted my mac, as i know I should to get the server running. But I get an error from the license activation app that the server is NOT running, or that it cannot be found. I know that I should not have to manually launch anything. It's supposed to do it itself when I restart my Mac. But it doesn't for some reason. 

I really don't know what to do. I guess I will just have to go through the annoying process of getting someone from NL support to login remotely to fix whatever is not working. Hopefully I won't have to waste 2 weeks like the last time.

 

Sorry for being grumpy. And thank you for your help. If you find anything out. Please let me know.

 



#16 davidhard

davidhard

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 29 November 2016 - 11:47 AM

Well... I don't fully understand what I did, but I seem to have gotten everything working now. 

Like I mentioned earlier, I was able to get Maxwell Studio and suite activated just fine. The issue was getting the FormZ plugin's license activated. The license activator simply was not finding the license server, even though it was running. The web server administrator showed that it was running, and the terminal window showed it was running. And even thought I tried restarting several times, I would still get the same error every time I tried to activate the license when I opened FormZ. The license activator would say that the server could not be found. 

I checked the contents of the rlm_nl folder on the /Users/Shared/NextLimit/rlm_nl/ path, and noticed that there were license files for the Maxwell suite, but not one for FormZ. Then I remembered that there was a way to go to the customer portal on NextLimit and manually create a license file and download it. So I did that and put the file in the proper folder.... still didn't work. Restarted my mac.... still didn't work. So I gave up last night. But this morning. I tried one more time. I restarted my mac, and now it works. I don't know what changed between now and last night. But whatever it was, it all got sorted out. 



#17 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 29 November 2016 - 12:05 PM

Hi David, cmick9,

 

I have discovered a simple fix for the problems. Please see:

http://forums.formz....n-instructions/

 

Thanks again from your report. Next Limit will correct the OSX license activator so it places the floating license into the correct directory.



#18 cmick9

cmick9

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 29 November 2016 - 02:21 PM

that worked on my end... thank you!!!!



#19 pylon

pylon

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 657 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Posted 29 November 2016 - 02:28 PM

Great :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users