Jump to content


Photo

Palettes not displaying properly


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 03:45 PM

After right clicking on the formZ icon and changing "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" on the Compatibility tab I had some of my formZ palletes not displaying properly. I need help getting this fixed as soon as possible! 

 

Things I tried but didn't work:

  • Reboot my computer
  • Switch back to having "Display Scaling" ON
  • Reset all workspaces
  • Delete the formZ folder on C:\Users\Andre\AppData\Local\Temp
  • On the formZ preference tab reset the defaults for "Dialogs" & "Palettes" 
  • Running formZ with compatibility mode ON for Windows 7
  • Re-installing formZ

 

My system:

 

Windows 10 PRO

CPU Intel i7-6700K @ 4.5GHz

Geforce GTX 980 Ti (Driver 375.63)

32G RAM

3840 x 2160 (27" display) 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • formZ palettes hiding.jpg

  • Dwaynewees, Santoskes, Michaelhokig and 2 others like this

#2 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 03:53 PM

Solved it! Woohoo! 

 

Here's the solution:

  • Right click on the "Reference Plane Tools" palette
  • Go to settings & change the "Tool Icon Size" to largest
  • Repeat for "Snap Tools" palette

Now I just need to figure out how to get the palette bar titles to display properly but that's not as important. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • formZ palettes solved.jpg

Edited by Andre Conlledo, 26 October 2016 - 03:53 PM.


#3 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 04:38 PM

Hi Andre,

 

What if you choose Reset Workspace from the Workspace Menu.  Does that help?

 

 



#4 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 04:41 PM

You mean to solve the palette titles issue?

 

I tried that but it didn't work.



#5 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 26 October 2016 - 05:41 PM

What if you Quit formZ, go to C:\Users\Andre\AppData -- and rename the autodessys folder, does that work better?



#6 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 08:55 AM

There's a list on my first post of the things I tried. Some are very similar to your suggestions.

 

What if you Quit formZ, go to C:\Users\Andre\AppData -- and rename the autodessys folder, does that work better?

 

 

Hi Andre,

 

What if you choose Reset Workspace from the Workspace Menu.  Does that help?

 

 

After right clicking on the formZ icon and changing "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" on the Compatibility tab I had some of my formZ palletes not displaying properly. I need help getting this fixed as soon as possible! 

 

Things I tried but didn't work:

  • Reboot my computer
  • Switch back to having "Display Scaling" ON
  • Reset all workspaces
  • Delete the formZ folder on C:\Users\Andre\AppData\Local\Temp
  • On the formZ preference tab reset the defaults for "Dialogs" & "Palettes" 
  • Running formZ with compatibility mode ON for Windows 7
  • Re-installing formZ

 

My system:

 

Windows 10 PRO

CPU Intel i7-6700K @ 4.5GHz

Geforce GTX 980 Ti (Driver 375.63)

32G RAM

3840 x 2160 (27" display) 

 



#7 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 09:14 AM

Dear Andre,

 

You said you deleted App Data / Local / Temp

 

We suggested to delete (or rename) the autodessys folder from App Data / Roaming (which is different).

 

What happens if you QUIT formZ first and then delete or rename that folder?

 

 



#8 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 12:33 PM

Sorry, my bad. I just tried that and it made no difference.



#9 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 12:45 PM

Hi Andre,

 

Sorry, we are out of ideas.  Is that preventing you from getting your work done?



#10 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 12:53 PM

Only the first issue I had which was preventing me from being able to see the snap options which I use pretty often.

 

I can live without the titles on palettes. Thanks!



#11 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 01:02 PM

Hi Andre,

 

Ok, one other thing you can try:  From the Workspace Menu: Tool Manager, drag one of the tools from this palette and wave it over the snap icons.  Does that restore the contents of this palette for you?



#12 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 01:23 PM

That's a neat trick! 

 

I changed the icon size back to small(er) and now all of the contents are showing. If they disappear again I'll try this method and will post back here. For now fiddling with the icon size setting worked for me.



#13 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 27 October 2016 - 01:34 PM

Great, glad you are back on track!  ;)


  • Andre Conlledo likes this

#14 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 02:50 PM

New issue: The Input Palette isn't displaying correctly the "Length" portion. I tried all of the solutions posted above. I tried moving that palette around and resizing it but that didn't work either.

Attached Thumbnails

  • formZ_length issue.JPG


#15 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 03:35 PM

Dear Andre,

 

You said you deleted App Data / Local / Temp / formZ

 

We suggested to delete (or rename) the autodessys folder from App Data / Roaming (which is different).

 

What happens if you QUIT formZ first and then delete or rename that folder?

 

Hi Andre,

 

Did you Quit formZ and rename this autodessys folder?



#16 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 03:37 PM

Yes.



#17 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 04:12 PM

Did anything change when you did that?



#18 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 04:28 PM

Yes, everything resets back to "factory settings". While in "factory settings" the problem gets worse as you can see on the attached picture.

Attached Thumbnails

  • formZ_length issue-002.jpg


#19 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 04:59 PM

Hi Andre,

 

Are you using a non-standard system font -- and if so, does resetting the font / size in the system settings fix the palette after you relaunch formZ after resetting it?

 

And has anyone else seen this before on their systems?



#20 Andre Conlledo

Andre Conlledo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 05:06 PM

I'm using standard font and font size and playing with it makes no difference (Segoe UI 17).

 

On my 3840 x 2160 (27" display) everything looks small and I would very much appreciate it if we had more control over the UI.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users