Jump to content


Photo

tool_random_trans not working in recent versions?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 07 October 2016 - 05:25 AM

i'm missing a random move points functionality. in the past this script was doing well, but it seems not to work in FZ now. or am i missing something? do we have this built in now somewhere in FZ?


  • AlexissMn, Gregorytig, Santoskes and 11 others like this

3dworks visual computing + photography


#2 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,903 posts

Posted 07 October 2016 - 05:08 PM

Unfortunately this extension was written in FSL which is not 64 bit compatible. We are working on updating these older utilities to plugins (which means they will perform better too). Attached is are OS X and Windows 64 plugins of the random transformation utility plugin for you to try! 

 

NOTE THAT THESE PLUGINS IN THIS POST WILL ONLY WORK WITH 8.5.6 (or later). 

 

We expect to re-release a number of these in the not too distant future. They still need some clean up but they seem to be functioning well.

 

To install, download, de-compress and drop the folder into the "plugins" folder of your formZ installation. You should see the tool icon at the bottom of the tool bar (if not try resetting your workspace from the workspace menu).

 

Enjoy!

 

 

Attached Files


  • Des and fzkhn668 like this

#3 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 09 October 2016 - 04:26 AM

this is very helpful! thank you very much! :-)

 

markus


3dworks visual computing + photography


#4 Andy

Andy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 10 October 2016 - 09:55 PM

Hi Lab

 

random transform works great but not with components; when I select components and click on script the components are changed but When I'll return to pick tool there is a message that ask if update components. In this dialog there are two options but only one choice works; the choice that works create copy of originally components.

 

(sorry for my poor english)

 

 

Andrea


Edited by Andy, 10 October 2016 - 09:58 PM.


#5 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,903 posts

Posted 11 October 2016 - 06:40 AM

Hi Andrea.

 

Yes, this old plugin was simply recompiled so it works with the current version, but it was not re-written to handle Components.  At some point it should be rewritten to handle Components (or to disallow Components at a minimum) but for now you should avoid using this plugin with Components...



#6 Andy

Andy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 11 October 2016 - 11:23 PM

Ok, thank you very much Support.

 

Andrea



#7 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 12 October 2016 - 06:29 AM

i checked the tool now, but cannot get it to work as expected on points. see this 2 screenshots before and after:
 
wall_sculpture_1.fmz_-_1_2016-10-12_13-2
 
wall_sculpture_1.fmz_-_1_2016-10-12_13-2
 
instead of moving the points it moves the attached geometry...
 
kind regards
 
markus

Attached Files


3dworks visual computing + photography


#8 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,903 posts

Posted 12 October 2016 - 09:02 AM

Hi Markus,

 

This plugin / script has always worked at the Object topological level, no?

 

(We checked your file in v6.7 and the whole objects moved there too.)

 

Are you able to get just the points to move in a previous version?



#9 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 12 October 2016 - 12:27 PM

i don't know if it worked that way, but i need a tool to move points in this case. i did already solve the problem by importing this to lightwave modeler and re-exporting it to FZ, but a tool which moves any selected geometry would be more helpful.


3dworks visual computing + photography


#10 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,903 posts

Posted 12 October 2016 - 01:42 PM

All,

 

Here is an updated plugin that works on points, edges, outlines and faces as well as objects.

 

Components have not been fully exposed in the SDK yet. We are working on this and we will make a new random_trans plugin that handles components once the SDK support thats necessary is available.

 

Thanks for the feedback and keep it coming!

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 2.23.14 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2016-10-12 at 2.23.22 PM.png

Attached Files



#11 setz

setz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 343 posts

Posted 12 October 2016 - 02:05 PM

Smokin'



#12 3dworks

3dworks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationBerlin, Germany

Posted 12 October 2016 - 03:24 PM

whohoo, GREAT! FZ tech support ROCKS! :-)


3dworks visual computing + photography


#13 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 3,903 posts

Posted 12 October 2016 - 03:58 PM

(And our developers are not too shabby either!  ;) )


  • 3dworks likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users