Jump to content


Photo

Help someone! File is not opened - stop responding on Updating Components

problem with components

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#21 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 23 February 2016 - 10:32 PM

Tech, you could open my file???? If yes - how did you do it?



#22 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 02:01 AM

Hi Vlad,

 

Yes, we were able to open your file, and are working on a solution for you.  We will report back as soon as we have this completed.

 

Your file is causing a Video Driver Time Out Delay on our computers, and we are still investigating why.  This nVidia web site has more info on this -- and a link to a Microsoft site that allows you to adjust the TDR settings:

 

http://nvidia.custhe...r-detected”

 

https://msdn.microso...7(v=vs.85).aspx

 

What video card do you have, and what is the date of its driver?  And if the date of the driver is more than a few months old, does downloading the current driver from the manufacturer's web site and installing that help on your end?



#23 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 02:51 AM

Hi Tech

I have video card NVIDIA Geforce GTX 880M 8G. Yesterday I downloaded and installed latest driver for it - 361.91 Geforce game ready driver from nvidia website.

This FormZ file use only 30% RAM memory in my computer. Memory more than enough, I suppose.

Can you tell me - is possible open this file or no?



#24 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 04:12 AM

Paul???



#25 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 07:21 AM

Hi Vlad,

 

(As noted above:  Yes, we were able to open your file, and are working on a solution for you.  We will report back as soon as we have this completed.)

 

Sorry, our offices don't open for almost 2 more hours.  To open the file successfully, you will need to increase or turn off the Windows TDR as noted above.  This link also has a good explanation about the issues:

 

http://http.develope...on_Recovery.htm

 

Have you followed the instructions from the Microsoft link we posted previously and disabled your TDR yet?

 

Also, as soon as you open your file, you might want to change your Display from Shaded Full (which demands more on the video card) to Shaded Work or Wireframe.

 

Does that help?

 

And with regards to how much memory formZ is using, did you check the Peak Working Set via the Task Manager: Details?



#26 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 09:34 AM

Hi 

I made that you proposed (TDR_switch off). It did not help...

I did not receive message that driver video card was stopped. So I think it is no problem of video card.

Peak Working Set said file FormZ take almost 12G.

What need to do next? If  impossible for me open this file - Can you open this file and convert to another format (Sketchup). There are so lot information and  I need continue work, all what I created for this project - all in this file, it is so terrible...



#27 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 09:39 AM

Hi Vlad,

 

Yes, we were able to open the file.  We are working on trying to find a solution for you that will be independent of the TDR issue noted above. We will report back as soon as we can.

 

What version of Windows are you using, and how much RAM does your computer have?



#28 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 09:41 AM

Windows 8 and 32G RAM



#29 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 10:07 AM

Hi Vald,

 

This is a quick note from the formZ development team. We are looking carefully at your file to see why its using so much memory and taking so long to open. We were able to open the file on a couple of OS X Macbook pros and the data appears to be OK. We have identified a few things in the ACIS smooth modeling module that are causing the delays and the memory usage. We are looking into this issue carefully and will try to have more information for you by the end of our work day (I understand that you are in Russia, correct)?

 

Also let us say that it is some very impressive detailed work and we look forward to getting you back on track. 

 

 



#30 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 10:32 AM

Thank you for you care

I am in UAE and spent for this project approximately 2 months - it is  competitions work

I am waiting for your answer with excitement, trust me))



#31 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 10:56 AM

And thank you for praise,  I appreciate it. Oh, forgot to say - some objects in thiis file I imported from ArchiCad 19 and convert its to components - perhaps it impact for normal working file



#32 DennisA

DennisA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 05:25 PM

Vlad... when you get this solved we would all love to see a final rendering of your project.

Good luck in tech helping you with a solution. We have all been in your spot one way or another (personally not for 2 months work) & it always finally worked out.



#33 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 06:22 PM

Of course,Dennis

I will definitely show result, but first what I need - I need understand, what I have to do. Uncertainty kills. Or go backwards, spend next 2 weeks or month for recovery of the building piece by piece and convert to another program, study it and assemble in a single whole (It is really awful, I no have time and desire), or get solution and move forward and go to final rendering. Worst of all - is waiting in suspense



#34 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 09:13 PM

Hi Vlad,

 

We have sent a recovered file to you.  Please check your email, and reply back there if you have any further questions.

 

Hope this helps!



#35 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 25 February 2016 - 04:25 AM

Guys

Thank you very much!!!

I very thankful to you.

You don't know how you rescued me! It was really drama. I will show you result.

Could you indicate  for me my mistakes for future - I don't want repeat it again - what I did wrong?



#36 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 25 February 2016 - 06:16 AM

Hi Vlad,

 

You are very welcome.  We will post more details for you later today when our offices are open.  ;)



#37 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 26 February 2016 - 03:42 AM

Hi Paul,

I successfully finished work in FormZ modelling and tried convert file to Artlantis 4 format (atl) for further rendering, but half of objects were lost...Also I tried convert to 3ds Max, also model was damaged. Converting to obj also was awry. Perhaps I did something wrong? Who can explain me?

 


#38 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 26 February 2016 - 07:53 AM

Hi Vlad,

 

We are currently testing the file we sent back to you, but we have done a quick check on the major parts using these options, and that is working for us:

 

OBJ Export.jpg

 

If you export your file with these options, does that work for you?

 

If you can Export successfully but the Import to your other progam is not working, can you import that OBJ file successfully back into formZ?

 

Or if your file is not Exporting at all with these options, does the file we sent back also have this problem for you, or is it only having trouble with your current file?

 

We will keep investigating and report back...



#39 Vlad

Vlad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 26 February 2016 - 12:02 PM

Hi Paul

When I chenged  convertation settings  of file to (OBJ and ATL)  it became close during convertation. I did not add or create in the file (that received from you) any new objects - only used existing for move copy or mirror copy, no more. Also I tried importing old (with old settings) OBJ back to FormZ, it still converting...

Could you properly convert my file to atl. (Artlantis 4) if I  send it to you?



#40 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 26 February 2016 - 12:24 PM

Hi Vlad,

 

Yes, it would probably be best to test directly with your main file.  Please upload it, let us know when that upload has finished, and we will take a look.

 

Do you know, are there any limitations to the maximum number of polygons in an Artlantis file?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users