Jump to content


Photo

DXF Export not working.


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 16 February 2016 - 12:17 AM

I usually keep my settings set,  however, I was not getting circles (parametric) to export to my other software (PatternSmith)    which I have never had an issue with before.  So, I started to play with my settings.   NOW, Everything Triangulates.

 

I am just exporting flat patterns.   

 

Even Round Tripping the files does not work.

 

Version 6.5.3 works without issue.   older versions of 8.x worked. without issue.  (I did have other issues, but those were remedied by chucking the preferences and templates)   I sure would hate to have to chuck all my preferences Again.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 10.15.27 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 10.16.01 PM.png

Edited by Neurascenic, 16 February 2016 - 12:18 AM.

Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#2 Andy

Andy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 03:37 AM

Hi Support,

 

DXF and DWG export is broken me too with this settings:

 

Schermata 2016-02-16 alle 09.24.55.jpg

 

My formZ version:

 

Schermata 2016-02-16 alle 09.23.53.jpg

 

Test file:

Attached Files



#3 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 10:53 AM

Hi Chris,

 

Facetted objects will become triangulated if you Export as Solids and do not have the Export Facetted Objects as ACIS Objects option checked.  Please check that option to avoid the triangulation.  Alternately, you can export as Polylines without triangulation (but then you will only have lines, not surfaces -- which is good for cutting files, but not for rendering, etc).  If you export with these options, does that give you want you want?

 

DWG Options.jpg

 

(The only thing you might want to change for general exports is the DWG Version -- which you can set to an earlier version if your software doesn't support the recent versions.)

 

Hi Andy,

 

Yes, there is an issue with the Export Groups as Blocks option.  Please avoid that option for now and you should get good results.  Thanks for your report, we will get that corrected.



#4 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 16 February 2016 - 11:48 PM

Tech,  I only use Polylines as PatternSmith is dedicated to cutting and not rendering.  AND, they are coming out as Faceted.

With PolyLines the "Export Facetted Objects As ACIS Objects" is not an option.

 

 

Your Options do not work, as PatternSmith rejects those objects (ignores them)

 

Here is what Works for me in 6.x  and what was working for me in 8.5 prior to the newest version...    These settings are Triangulating.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.45.28 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 9.40.49 PM.png

Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#5 Andy

Andy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 02:59 AM

Hi Support,

 

Also with option DWG not exporting:
 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Schermata.jpg


#6 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 07:34 AM

Hi Andy,

 

Yes, there is an issue with the Export Groups as Blocks option.  Please avoid that option for now and you should get good results.  Thanks for your report, we will get that corrected.

 

Yes -- was that different from your previous report?

 

(Thanks again for your report...)



#7 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 18 February 2016 - 01:35 PM

Tech,

 

no further info?


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#8 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 18 February 2016 - 02:16 PM

Hi Chris,

 

Yes, the ACIS Objects option only applies to when exporting as Objects.

 

If you don't want it to be Triangulated, if you Uncheck the Triangulate All Facetted option, does that help?



#9 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 18 February 2016 - 03:48 PM

No,  even that does not work.     I flipped it on by trying all options in desperation, and failed to flip it back.


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#10 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 18 February 2016 - 04:15 PM

Hi Chris,

 

If you import the file back into formZ, do you see the problem there too?

 

If so, please send the original .FMZ file so we can test with this here.

 

Also, just to confirm, v6.7 (and 8.5.2) are both working properly with the same file and Pattern Smith?



#11 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 18 February 2016 - 04:26 PM

As noted in the original post, "Even Round Tripping the files does not work."   So, ostensibly it is in the export.

 

Attached is a file where I copied the objects to, so it is a fresh file and the issue persists.

Attached Files


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#12 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 18 February 2016 - 05:47 PM

Chris,

 

This is working fine for us with these settings for DXF and DWG:

 

DWG Export.jpg

 

Does that work for you -- or does this file work properly?

 

Attached File  Bad DXF.zip   16.37KB   22 downloads

 



#13 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 15 March 2016 - 03:39 PM

No, this does not work.   Even if I round Trip it back into fZ,  the patterns are triangulated.

 

Attached;

   image of my settings, just to make sure I am following directions

 


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#14 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 15 March 2016 - 03:39 PM

No, this does not work.   Even if I round Trip it back into fZ,  the patterns are triangulated.

 

Attached;

   image of my settings, just to make sure I am following directions

   Round Trip File of the .dxf 

   the original.

 

File does not Matter, it happens to everything.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 2.38.59 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 2.38.40 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 2.38.04 PM.png

Edited by Chris lund, 15 March 2016 - 03:41 PM.

Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#15 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 15 March 2016 - 06:30 PM

Chris,

 

Did you Import the DWG.zip file we posted?

 

And does that work for you?



#16 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 16 March 2016 - 09:07 AM

It imports without issue.


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#17 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 16 March 2016 - 09:14 AM

So exporting that exact same FMZ file with those same options does not give you the same file?



#18 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 16 March 2016 - 03:02 PM

Correct, file attached

Attached Files


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#19 Chris lund

Chris lund

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • LocationWestcliffe Colorado

Posted 16 March 2016 - 03:11 PM

So,  Blowing out the Preferences folder (Library/Preferences/autodessys)     Corrects the problem.

 

blowing this out every time I have a problem isn't a good solution though.  it takes a long time to rebuild all the custom settings.


Christopher Lund

Neurascenic - Industrial Design


#20 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 16 March 2016 - 03:37 PM

Hi Chris,

 

Hmmm, that's strange.  Perhaps there is some other option set somewhere that you haven't identified.  Once you Rename the autodessys folder and it fixes it, you can try restoring parts (reloading Prefs, Workspaces, Templates, Shortcuts, etc).  Most likely all of those can be reloaded, but if not, if you can send that part, we can investigate it...






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users