Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

performance test Comments


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#61 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 08:05 AM

Hi BlueMonkey,

 

Yes, the OSX handling of the "extra cores" can cause longer render times currently.  If you set the # cores to the actual number (6) and run the test, do you again get the ~13 minute time?

 

Windows has always handled the multiple cores faster, and also renders a little faster in general with the same hardware, so it is not surprising that you would get 9:36 with a slightly faster computer.



#62 bluemonkey

bluemonkey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 10:58 AM

So I set the preferences to 6 cores

 

Using v8.5 on OSX 10.11.2 on mac pro 3.5 GHz 6 core I got time of 16:53

 

Still longer than v7

 

just out of curiosity I tried 4 cores but it goes back up to 21:44



#63 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 12:21 PM

Hmmm, it is not surprising that 4 cores would be slower than 6 cores (with a 6 core machine) but it is surprising that 8.5 is a few minutes slower than v7.  We will run some more tests and investigate this further.  Hopefully Lightworks (makers of the RenderZone engine) can improve this for the future.



#64 bluemonkey

bluemonkey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 14 January 2016 - 01:04 PM

Many thanks for looking into this one - look forward to a solution - I much prefer working on my mac (may just have to use the PC for heavy rendering duties)

 

Keep up the good work!



#65 Justin Montoya

Justin Montoya

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts

Posted 20 January 2016 - 04:26 PM

This is not a problem with how OSX handles multiple cores/threads!  If it were, then why does every other multi-platform rendering engine compare very closely in speed on both OSX and Windows???   Check out Maxwell's Benchwell results and see for yourself!  (http://www.maxwellrender.com/benchwell)

 

Lightworks needs to understand that OSX is a profitable platform for FormZ and it's users demand at least similar performance to the other platforms.   How can AutoDesSys continue to supply RenderZone as the default engine when it is so severely handicapped on OSX?   Please get this resolved by working with Lightworks ASAP, as it is extremely unfair to charge for your new products when your past/current product is not even fully functioning!  



#66 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 20 January 2016 - 07:31 PM

Justin,

 

If I recall correctly, this issue only occurred after an OS X update, and did not occur with previous versions of the OS.  Granted it has been awhile since that OS was released, but it was Apple's change, not Lightworks' change that caused the delay with the many cores...  Hopefully Lightworks can get this adjusted in the not too distant future.  If there was anything we could do to make this happen faster, we would do it -- and we are working with other rendering providers to offer more rendering options to formZ users in the near future.   ;).



#67 Andy

Andy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 26 January 2016 - 02:34 AM

MacPro early 2009 (4,1)

 

2 x 2,26 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon

 

MacOS 10.10.5

 

12 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC

 

formZ 8.5.0.2

 

00:28:02

 

Andrea


Edited by Andy, 26 January 2016 - 02:36 AM.


#68 DennisA

DennisA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 408 posts

Posted 26 January 2016 - 11:31 PM

Would it help for any fmz users to talk directly to Lightworks?...the squeaky wheel gets the oil! Can you provide there phone number & or email contact?


  • Justin Montoya likes this

#69 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 27 January 2016 - 08:37 AM

Hi Dennis,

 

Well, it is possible that might help.   Here is their Contact page:

 

https://www.lightwor...com/contact.php


  • Justin Montoya likes this

#70 bluemonkey

bluemonkey

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 02 March 2016 - 01:18 PM

Update:

 

So Earlier I noted the following test times:

Using a Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 2013 6 core

- V7 on OSX 10.9.5 - time 13:35

- V8.5 on OSX 10.9.5 - time 16:40

- V8.5 on OSX 10.11.2 - time 16:53

 

 

So I upgraded to 8.5.3

- v8.5.3 on OSX 10.11.2 - time 35 mins and I'm only up to scanline 1100 of 3300? - Is there something wrong with my render zone ?

 



#71 Tech

Tech

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 4,110 posts

Posted 02 March 2016 - 01:52 PM

Hi Bluemonkey,

 

That is strange that the time would have changed from what you recorded before.  If you go to the Edit Menu: Prefs -- and set the number of Processors to 6, does that help?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users