AutoDesSys

Making Glow for Line Lights work the same as a Cone Light

jordanmurry

The title says it pretty straight forward. I, not for a lack of trying, cannot find a way to reproduce the type of glowing you get with a cone light on a line light. I've tried using accurate and simple settings for lights, using accurate and simple glow settings to no avail.  I've gone through multiple threads for creating fluorescent lights, neon lights, etc, which I all thought might get what I'm trying to do, but I just can't seem to make it do what I want it to do. 

The most recent thing I was reading was that in order to see the glow, there needed to be "fog" and that this significantly increased the rendering times. Unfortunately, I see nowhere that I can add this, just things in the manual that say it makes renders slow down.

Being self taught, I've thought I probably just don't know something simple, so maybe somebody can help? I've attached a cropped section of an image that I had to go in with photoshop to add some pretty uninspiring light glow in order to get a project out under a deadline... This is what I'm trying to do within formZ

post-29-0-28613100-1416432777_thumb.png

This definitely seems like a limitation of the RenderZone engine.  With the current popularity of LED lighting accents, this is becoming more and more difficult to constantly work around.  We regularly use a gradient transparency map to create these effects on planes we build where the light should be glowing.  It would be really nice if RenderZone could do this without the transparency map work around.  But I think it's age is starting to show, and unless FormZ gives us a significant change in the rendering engine, you are probably best getting these results from Maxwell, if you can justify the cost and rendering times.  

Hopefully FormZ will chime in here and explain why the Glow feature doesn't seem to work right with Line and Area lights.

Thanks Tech-