AutoDesSys

vray for FZ - any updates?

3dworks

Yes... I would be interested in this as well.

The more I use the program, the more I realize that I need Maxwell, etc. to fully realize what's in my head. Don't get me wrong... I know that people can create amazing images with Renderzone but these other programs seem to make more sense to me. They just seem more robust. That's probably the benefit of getting a dedicated rendering program though.

I have been very happy with the modelling capabilities of FormZ for years, and version 7 made it even easier/quicker for me to construct the things that I wanted to do, but my final renders have still been lacking (even with all of the support that I've received here over the years). A lot of it is due to me being self-taught I'm sure but... what can you do?

if it is not going to be vray, please have a look at this, probably the next big thing: https://corona-renderer.com

Corona is a fantastic rendering option. Not into classifying things as 'the next big thing' though as there's a wealth of wonderful rendering options available these days.

The main problem I can foresee with Corona in regard to FormZ is that it doesn't exist for OS X and I would hope that Autodessys doesn't start partnering with companies that only offer a single OS solution (the heritage of FormZ is Mac operating system based and I'm pretty sure OS X is still a sizable proportion of Autodessys customer segments). The Corona team is very small and it's taken them an age to get to the point they're at at the moment so I can't see an OS X port happening any time soon.

All that being said it's a great renderer which I would put up there with Arnold for being the most innovative around at the moment (outside of the GPU options that are beginning to reach maturity). Arnold is my absolute favourite for exterior shots but nothings beats V-Ray on interiors (where many other rendering options take far too long to resolve to clean results).